Gettin’ my Lent on

I’ll admit it, I’m not actually Catholic. But I’ve always thought Lent was a great idea. Just early enough in the year to set a tone, but not so early that–like many New Year’s resolutions– they get overwhelming and shelved two weeks in.

I also like the idea of taking something out of your life in order to focus on what’s important. If you’re religious, that often means a focus on God, but this idea can apply to everyday life as well.

Do you have something–maybe even something you love or really enjoy–that keeps you from what you know is important?

For me, that’s TV. Honestly, I don’t even like TV that much. Most nights when I come home from a long day at work, I plop in front of the flashy lights and come out of my programming coma hours later realizing I just wasted some really valuable time.

So this year TV is off for the duration of Lent. The one a exception is Biggest Loser, because I come away from that show feeling empowered. That’s a plus.

In the beginning I kinda thought I was taking the easy way out. TV won’t be that big of a loss, right! I don’t en like it!

But I discovered that while I may regret it later, I’ve trained myself to come home and vegetate in front of the TV. Its this unhealthy habit that I’ve engrained as a way to unwind. But there has to be a better way!

So far I’ve been catching up on a lot of reading–and that leaves me so much more fulfilled than most TV shows ever will. But I still struggle a bit to break the habit.

Are you giving up anything for Lent?

Leave a Reply

