Making time for yourself when things get tough

This is one of those posts that I don’t really want to write. The kind of post when I have to admit I backslid a bit. Things have been rough lately–but that’s not an excuse.

This weekend I lost the woman I had hoped would be my mother-in-law some day. Pat was an intelligent, funny and caring person. I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed our short time together. She died this weekend of a sudden heart attack. She never had any symptoms before. She likely had no idea what happened.

Although I don’t know that Pat could’ve done anything different, her passing has further proven how important it is for me to take care of myself. I owe it to all the people I love, all the people who depend on me, to do everything in my power to take care of myself.

Even when it gets hard. Even when I’d rather just be lazy and watch TV. Even when work is hard. Even when I’m tired.

It’s time that I make myself a priority not just for me, but for the people I love as well.

Leave a Reply

